Utah Royals FC Kicks Off 2020 Preseason


Utah Royals FC Announce Preseason Roster for 2020 National Women’s Soccer League

SANDY, Utah (Monday, March 9, 2018) – Utah Royals FC has announced its roster for the first week of training camp this week ahead of the club’s third season in the National Women’s Soccer League. 

The team will begin preseason without eight of its players, six of whom are away on international duty. The Canadian duo of Diana Matheson and Desiree Scott are in France competing in the Tournoi de France; Katie Bowen and New Zealand are in Portugal for the Algarve Cup; Gunny Jónsdóttir (Iceland) and Rachel Corsie (Scotland) are playing in the Pinatar Cup; and Kelley O’Hara and Christen Press are with the United States Women’s National Team at the SheBelieves Cup.

Abby Smith and Mallory Weber are also not in market, as they are finishing their stints in Australia.

The current roster includes 18 players from the 2019 roster, led by 2019 goal-scoring leader Amy Rodriguez and team Most Valuable Player Nicole Barnhart. Forwards Taylor Lytle and Brittany Ratcliffe will look to make their return to the pitch after missing all of the 2019 season due to season-ending injuries sustained during the preseason.  

2020 UTAH ROYALS FC PRESEASON ROSTER (as of Monday, March 9, 2020)

GOALKEEPERS (4): Nicole Barnhart, Melissa Lowder, Carly Nelson (NRI), Abby Smith (NYR)

DEFENDERS (9): Elizabeth Ball, Katie Bowen (NYR), Rachel Corsie (NYR), Taylor Leach, Michelle Maemone, Maddie Nolf, Kelley O’Hara (FED-USA; NYR), Danika Serassio (NRI), Gaby Vincent

MIDFIELDERS (12): Vero Boquete, Holly Daugirda (NRI), Kate Del Fava (CDP), Andrea Hauksdottir (NRI), Gunnhildur Jónsdóttir (NYR), Lo’eau LaBonta, Diana Matheson (FED-CAN; NYR), Desiree Scott (FED-CAN; NYR), Marissa Sheva (NRI), Chestley Strother, Mallory Weber (NYR), Jalen Woodward (NRI) 

FORWARDS (10): Cyera Hintzen (CDP), Tziarra King (CDP), Taylor Lytle, Shaelan Murison (NRI), Christen Press (FED-USA; NYR), Brittany Ratcliffe, Amy Rodriguez, Raimee Sherle (NRI), Arielle Ship, Raisa Strom-Okimoto 


FED – 2020 Federation Player
CDP – 2020 NWSL College Draft pick
NRI – Non-Roster Invitee
NYR – Not Yet Reported to Camp