USL Championship's All-Time Assists Leader Becomes Ninth Player to Sign with RSL from Monarchs

HERRIMAN, Utah – (Thursday, November 21, 2019) – Real Salt Lake has signed FW Maikel Chang from Real Monarchs SLC, the club announced today. Chang becomes the ninth player to sign with RSL after first signing with the Monarchs.

“Adding Maikel to the roster is very exciting because it further solidifies the growth initiatives within the club,” Executive Vice President Rob Zarkos said. “Maikel has shown his pedigree for years in the USL Championship and we feel that now is a good time for him to contribute on the MLS level.”

Chang, 28, has featured in 71 total matches across the regular season and playoffs for the Monarchs since arriving prior to the 2018 season while making 67 starts. The USL Championship’s all-time assists leader, the Havana, Cuba, native has amassed 39 assists since 2014 and became the first player in the league’s modern era to reach 30 career assists. Chang arrived at the Monarchs after four seasons with the Charleston Battery where he played 7,981 minutes and scored 15 goals in 109 matches played.

“I’ve felt very happy to have spent the time I have with the Monarchs,” Chang said. “These last two years have been the best of my life. I won the USL Championship Final with the Monarchs and became an American citizen which has always been a dream of mine. Now to be with RSL my dream has only grown and I’m excited to be a growing part of our club.”

Chang becomes the ninth player to make the jump to RSL after first signing with the Monarchs, joining Emery Welshman, Chris Schuler, Ricardo Velazco, Connor Sparrow and current RSL members Nick BeslerJustin PortilloDouglas Martinez and Andrew Putna. In addition, former RSL Head Coach Mike Petke and current Interim Head Coach Freddy Juarez both earned promotions from the USL Championship club.

Real Salt Lake's current roster headed into 2020, listed alphabetically by position, is below:

Goalkeepers (2): David Ochoa, Andrew Putna
Defenders (4): Justen Glad, Aaron Herrera, Erik Holt, Nedum Onuoha
Midfielders (7): Luis Arriaga, Nick Besler, Damir Kreilach, Everton Luiz, Justin Portillo, Pablo Ruiz, Albert Rusnák
Forwards (8): Corey Baird, Maikel Chang, Sam Johnson, Brooks Lennon, Douglas Martinez, Jefferson Savarino, Tate Schmitt, Julian Vazquez