RSL U-17s Win 5-4 Thriller Over Vancouver

Real Salt Lake U-17s 5-4 Vancouver Whitecaps FC U-17s

Real Salt Lake U-17s and Vancouver Whitecaps FC U-17s closed its 2018 Generation adidas Fall Regional outing on Monday morning in what turned out to be one of the tournament’s most exciting matches.

Vancouver started the match on fire as Emiliano Brienza fired the Canadian side in front after just six minutes for the early lead. Whitecaps FC doubled its advantage in the 17th minute when Kamron Habibullah latched onto a wonderful through ball before burying a breakaway inside the box. Tomas Ribeiro added a third goal for Vancouver when he received a ball near the penalty area before turning to fire a shot into the top corner of the net to extend the impressive second half lead.

Reinvigorated in the second half, RSL came out flying and got a goal back through Paul Paul Gindiri who headed home a cross from Christopher Garcia to bring the score to 3-1. Just five minutes later, RSL cut the lead in half when Garcia again played provider to Zachary Farnsworth who convincingly headed home unmarked from inside the six-yard box. After Vancouver struck the bar multiple times in an effort to extend its lead, RSL tied the match in spectacular fashion as Austin Ciampini rifled what looked to be a cross into the area from yards away that found the top corner of the far post. Just one minute later, RSL found the go-ahead goal by way of another header from Gindiri for the 4-3 lead.

In the game’s dying moments, Vancouver found the equalizer when Matteo De Brienne headed home a cross to bring the score to 4-4. Not to be denied, RSL found the winner even deeper into stoppage time as Garcia slotted home inside the penalty area for the 5-4 win.

Scoring Summary                           1       2       F

RSL U-17                                          0       5       5      

VAN U-17                                         3       1       4

VAN: Emiliano Brienza

VAN: Kamron Habibullah

VAN: Tomas Ribeiro

RSL: Paul Paul Gindiri

RSL: Zachary Farnsworth

RSL: Austin Ciampini

RSL: Paul Paul Gindiri

VAN: Matteo De Brienne

RSL: Christopher Garcia

Starting Lineups:

RSL: Christian Olivares; Nikolas Kizerian, Mateo Palomino, Bobby Pierre, Zack Farnsworth, Diego Fresquez, Daniel Rojas, Bode Davis, Christopher Garcia, Cesar Medina, Paul Paul Gindiri

VAN: Ben Alexander; Naseeb Bains, Dino Hajdarpasic, Nathan Demian, Brian Ananias, Tomas Ribeiro, Emiliano Brienza, Kamron Habibullah, Brandon Cambrdige, Massud Habibullah, Amir Batyrev