Utah Royals FC Keep Core Intact for 2019 Season

URFC Offers New Contracts to Five and Exercises Options on Ten Players; Allocated Players List to Be Announced at a Later Date

SANDY, Utah (Monday, October 1, 2018) – Utah Royals FC announced today that the club will retain 21 players on the roster from the club’s inaugural National Women’s Soccer League season, setting many building blocks for the 2019 season.
DF Becky Sauerbrunn, DF/FW Kelley O’Hara, FW Christen Press and FW Amy Rodriguez from the U.S. National Team and Canadian National Teamers MF Desiree Scott and MF Diana Matheson all remain on the current roster. The list of allocated players for the 2019 season will not be finalized until a later date.
The club has also offered new contracts to GK Abby Smith, DF Samantha Johnson, DF Sydney Miramontez, MF Mandy Laddish and FW Brittany Ratcliffe.  In addition, URFC exercised options for GK Nicole Barnhart, DF Rachel Corsie, DF Becca Moros, MF Gunny Jónsdóttir, MF Katie Bowen, MF Lo’eau LaBonta, MF Makenzy Doniak, FW Taylor Lytle, FW Katie Stengel and FW Erika Tymrak.
The club has declined the options for DF Alex Arlitt, MF Katrina Gorry and FW Elise Thorsnes.

Utah Royals FC finished its inaugural season fifth in the NWSL at 9-7-8 (35 points), missing the playoffs by two points.  The club was second in the league in attendance, with an average attendance of 9,466 in its 12 home matches at Rio Tinto Stadium.
After today’s announcement, URFC’s active roster stands as follows:
Goalkeepers (2): Nicole Barnhart, Abby Smith

Defenders (6): Rachel Corsie, Samantha Johnson, Sydney Miramontez, Becca Moros, Kelley O’Hara, Becky Sauerbrunn

Midfielders (7): Katie Bowen, Makenzy Doniak, Gunny Jónsdóttir, Lo’eau LaBonta, Mandy Laddish, Diana Matheson, Desiree Scott

Forwards (6): Taylor Lytle, Christen Press, Brittany Ratcliffe, Amy Rodriguez, Katie Stengel, Erika Tymrak