Latest News

Real Salt Lake Held Scoreless at Columbus

COLUMBUS, Ohio (Saturday, April 1, 2023) – Real Salt Lake (1-4-0, 3 points) fell 4-0 on the road to Columbus Crew SC.

Despite Real Salt Lake getting off to a strong start at Field, it was the home side, Columbus Crew SC, who took the early lead in the 14th minute when Lucas Zelarayan found Aiden Morris with a back-heel pass to go up 1-0.

In the 29th minute after a free kick saw the ball ricochet off **Justin Meram** and trickle towards goal, 17-year-old goalkeeper **Gavin Beavers** flung himself backwards, able to paw the ball off the goal-line to save what appeared to be a sure goal. Just two minutes later on the other end **Maikel Chang** got perhaps the team’s best chance of the half, forcing Crew goalkeeper Patrick Schulte to make an outstretched save. Just before halftime a foul inside the box by **Pablo Ruiz** saw Zelarayan score from the penalty spot in the 41st minute, giving Columbus the 2-0 lead heading into the break.

The Crew continued to find scoring opportunities in the second half, netting its third of the game in the 53rd minute when Morris pounced on a loose ball just in front of goal. Throughout the remainder of the second half Real Salt Lake were unable to put away any of its chances in front of goal, and in the final moment of the match Columbus netted its fourth goal of the game, courtesy Yaw Yeboah, giving the Claret-and-Cobalt its second-consecutive 4-0 loss.

UP NEXT: Real Salt Lake returns to America First Field to host 2022 MLS Expansion side Charlotte FC on Saturday, April 8 at 7:30 p.m. MT.


CLB: Aidan Morris (Lucas Zelarayan, Steven Moreira*)\* 14th minute: Zelarayan charged towards goal, dragging defenders with him before sending a backheel flick to an oncoming Morris. With his right foot Morris tucked his shot into the bottom left corner of goal.

CLB: Lucas Zelarayan (PK) 41st minute: After he was awarded a penalty kick for a foul by Pablo Ruiz, Zelarayan stepped up to the spot and slotted the ball into the corner pocket.

CLB: Aidan Morris 53rd minute: After Darlington Nagbe’s initial shot was saved, Morris pounced on the rebound to earn the brace.

CLB: Yaw Yeboah (Max Arftsen, Jacen Russel-Rowe) 90+3rd minute: Russel-Rowe slipped a pass to Arftsen who dribbled around the diving goalkeeper to find an open Yeboah for the easy tap-in.


- Goalkeeper Gavin Beavers received his first start for Real Salt Lake at 17 years, 11 months and three days old, becoming the third-youngest goalkeeper to start in Major League Soccer history, behind Gaga Slonina (17 years, 2 months and 21 days) and Max Anchor (17 years, 10 month and one day)

- One week after making his debut, forward Ilijah Paul earned his first start for the Claret-and-Cobalt, becoming the 23rd RSL Academy product to appear for the Club.

- Real Salt Lake were without Zack Farnsworth (ankle), Axel Kei (quad), Bod Hidalgo (hamstring), Erik Holt (achilles), Bryan Oviedo (calf), Marcelo Silva (hamstring), Danny Musovski (ankle) and Jefferson Savarino (personal reasons)


Real Salt Lake (4-4-2): Gavin Beavers; Emeka Eneli, Justen Glad, Brayan Vera, Andrew Brody; Braian Ojeda (Jasper Löffelsend 65’), Pablo Ruiz, Maikel Chang (Andres Gomez 65’), Justin Meram (Diego Luna 46’); Rubio Rubin (Damir Kreilach 75’), Ilijah Paul (Anderson Julio 46’)

Subs not used: Zac MacMath, Delentz Pierre, Scott Caldwell, Bertin Jacquesson,

Columbus Crew SC (4-2-4): Patrick Schulte; Milos Degenek, Gustavo Vallecilla, Will Sands (Jimmy Medranda 83’), Steven Moreira; Darlington Nagbe (Sean Zawadzki 74’), Aidan Morris; Lucas Zelarayan (Yaw Yeboah 74’), Christian Ramirez (Jacen Russel-Rowe 74’), Alexandru Matan (Max Arftsen 83’), Mohamed Farsi

Subs not used: Philip Quinton, Isaiah Parente, Keegan Hughes, Evan Bush

Stats Summary: RSL/CLBShots: 8/18
Shots on goal: 5/6
Saves: 2/5
Corner Kicks: 2/4
Fouls: 10/13

MISCONDUCT SUMMARY:RSL: Justin Meram (caution) 29’
CLB: Darlington Nagbe (caution) 64’
RSL: Emeka Eneli (caution) 84’

OFFICIALS:Referee: Rubiel Vazquez
Assistant Referees: Adam Mienckowski, Brooke Mayo
4th Official: Filip Dujic
VAR: Kevin Stott