Utah Royals

Real Monarchs to Feature in the Mountain Division During the 2021 Season

USL C conference alignment
<table align="left" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" style="width:784px;" width="100%"><tbody><tr><td><p><strong>TAMPA,&nbsp;Fla.</strong>&nbsp;– The USL Championship today announced its league alignment for the 2021 regular season. The league will feature 31 teams across four divisions and two conferences in the upcoming season, with the clubs set to embark on a 32-game regular-season schedule that will be conducted over 27 weeks.&nbsp;<br><br> As previously announced, the Championship’s regular season will begin on or about May 1st, while employing a flexible start date that allows clubs to begin play anywhere between April 24th and May 15th.<br> The four divisions are aligned across the country producing the Atlantic, Central, Mountain and Pacific Divisions. The Atlantic and Central Division will make up the Eastern Conference, while the Mountain and Pacific Divisions will make up the Western Conference.<br><br> The defending Eastern Conference Title-holder Tampa Bay Rowdies will enter the new season in the Atlantic Division, where they are joined by in-state rival Miami FC, 2020 Championship Playoffs clubs the Charleston Battery, Charlotte Independence, Hartford Athletic and Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC, and Loudoun United FC and the New York Red Bulls II.<br><br> Six-time Eastern Conference Finalist Louisville City FC leads the Central Division, where it is joined by local rival Indy Eleven and the trio of Atlanta United 2, Birmingham Legion FC, and Memphis 901 FC. Oklahoma rivals FC Tulsa and OKC Energy FC also join the Central Division, which is completed by Sporting Kansas City II.<br><br> Back-to-back Western Conference Finalist El Paso Locomotive FC leads the quartet of Texas clubs in the Mountain Division, with Austin Bold FC, Rio Grande Valley FC and San Antonio FC set to compete for the Copa Tejas throughout the campaign. The lone seven-team division is completed by Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC, New Mexico United and Real Monarchs SLC.<br><br> Defending Western Conference Title-holder Phoenix Rising FC enters the campaign as part of the Pacific Division, where it will square off with the Championship’s five California-based clubs – the LA Galaxy II, newcomer Oakland Roots SC, Orange County SC, Sacramento Republic FC and San Diego Loyal SC. Las Vegas Lights FC and Tacoma Defiance complete the Pacific Division lineup.</p></td></tr></tbody></table>
<table align="left" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" style="width:300px;" width="300"><tbody><tr><td><p><strong>Eastern Conference</strong><br><u>Atlantic Division</u><br> Charleston Battery<br> Charlotte Independence<br> Hartford Athletic<br> Loudoun United FC<br> Miami FC<br> New York Red Bulls II<br> Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC<br> Tampa Bay Rowdies<br><br><u>Central Division</u><br> Atlanta United 2<br> Birmingham Legion FC<br> FC Tulsa<br> Indy Eleven<br> Louisville City FC<br> Memphis 901 FC<br> OKC Energy FC<br> Sporting KC II</p></td></tr></tbody></table><table align="left" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" style="width:300px;" width="300"><tbody><tr><td><p><strong>Western Conference</strong><br><u>Mountain Division</u><br> Austin Bold FC<br> Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC<br> El Paso Locomotive FC<br> New Mexico United<br> Real Monarchs SLC<br> Rio Grande Valley FC<br> San Antonio FC<br><br><br><u>Pacific Division</u><br> LA Galaxy II<br> Las Vegas Lights FC<br> Oakland Roots SC<br> Orange County SC<br> Phoenix Rising FC<br> Sacramento Republic FC<br> San Diego Loyal SC<br> Tacoma Defiance</p></td></tr></tbody></table>
<table align="left" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" style="width:784px;" width="100%"><tbody><tr><td><p>During the regular season, each team will play its division opponents four times – twice home, twice away. In the Atlantic, Central and Pacific Divisions, the four remaining games will be played against regional or cross-conference opponents. In the Mountain Division, the remaining eight games will be played against regional or cross-conference opponents.&nbsp;<br><br> Stay tuned in the coming weeks for competition-related announcements on home openers for the 2021 USL Championship season, the 2021 ESPN national broadcast schedule, and the full 2021 regular season schedule.</p></td></tr></tbody></table>