HERRIMAN, Utah (Monday, November 1, 2021) – Real Monarchs announced its annual team award winners for 2021 as voted on by the Monarchs players. Forward Malik Johnson was selected as the club’s Most Valuable Player and defender Kyle Adams was voted Defensive Player of the Year for the team. Meanwhile, forward Milan Iloski won this year’s Golden Boot for most goals scored. 

Forward Malik Johnson: Real Monarchs Most Valuable Player

Johnson led the Monarchs in games played, appearing in 31 of the 32 possible matches. The forward scored one goal and tallied three assists while leading the team in key passes with 33 chances created. Johnson scored the equalizing goal in the 1-1 draw against Tacoma Defiance on June 23. Additionally, Johnson recorded the second-most shots (21), the most duels (276) and duels won (135), and fouls won (47).

Defender Kyle Adams: Real Monarchs Defensive Player of the Year

Adams led the Western Conference with 140 clearances, the second-most in the entire league. The defender led the team in blocks (42), interceptions (42), aerial duels (100, aerial duels won (58) and recorded the second-most duels won (124). Adams appeared in 29 matches, 27 of which were starts while playing 2,477 minutes that marked the most of any Monarchs player. Additionally, Adams scored the lone goal in the 1-1 draw against Colorado Springs Switchbacks on October 22. 

Forward Milan Iloski: Real Monarchs Golden Boot

Iloski led the Monarchs with five goals and three assists in 18 games played. The forward scored his first professional goal on June 9 against Sacramento Republic, during which he also scored his second to give the Monarchs the 2-0 win. For his performance against Sacramento, Iloski was named to the USL Championship Team of the Week and was nominated for Goal of the Week. 

All-Time Real Monarchs SLC Season-Ending Award Recipients

Real Monarchs Most Valuable Player: Malik Johnson (2021), Sam Brown (2020), Douglas Martínez (2019), Justin Portillo (2018), Nick Besler (2017)

Real Monarchs Defensive Player of the Year: Kyle Adams (2021), James Moberg (2020), Kalen Ryden (2019), Kalen Ryden (2018), Connor Sparrow (2017) 

Real Monarchs Golden Boot: Milan Iloski (2021), Kyle Coffee (2020), Douglas Martínez (2019), Chandler Hoffman (2018), Chandler Hoffman (2017)