Danny Acosta Academy

Under-20 Men’s National Team Head Coach Tab Ramos included five alums from the Real Salt Lake Arizona Academy in the his 36-player roster for the first U-20 MNT camp of 2016 in Miami which will include the first four matches of the new year.

Newly-signed RSL defender Danny Acosta is joined by fellow RSL Academy products Aaron Herrera, Diego Silva, Joshua Doughty and Evan Waldrep as the team starts camp on Monday.  On Friday, the U-20s will take on local all-star team CASA, then will face Weston FC of the NPSL.  Days later on Jan. 12, the U.S. will play matches with the opponents TBD.  All matches will be held at Barry University.

This crop of U-20s, made-up primarily of players born in 1997, will compete to qualify for the FIFA U-20 World Cup in Korea Republic, which runs from May-June of 2017.

Acosta signed with Real Salt Lake last week after three seasons with the RSL-AZ U-16 and U-18 Academy teams while three of his former Academy teammates are playing collegiately and the other, Doughty, is playing in Manchester United’s youth setup.

Doughty signed with Manchester United’s youth system prior in 2014, but has not yet appeared for either the U-18 or U-21 teams.  Herrera started in 14 of his 15 appearances for New Mexico, with the freshman defender helping the Lobos to an 8-6-4 record.  Silva had a solid freshman season as well, starting in 11 of his 12 appearances to help Maryland, including starts in five shutouts and a 2-1 win over then-No. 1 UCLA.  The Terrapins went 12-5-5 and reached the NCAA Quarterfinals.  Waldrep made 10 appearances in his freshman season for Creighton and had two goals and two assists as the Blue Jays advanced to the Quarterfinals at 19-3-0.

Roster by Position
GOALKEEPERS: Jonathan Klinsmann (California; Newport Beach, Calif.), JT Marcinkowski (Georgetown; Alamo, Calif.), Mason Stajduhar (Orlando City SC; Lithia, Fla.), Justin Vom Steeg (Santa Barbara; Santa Barbara, Calif.)
DEFENDERS: Danny Acosta (Real Salt Lake; San Pedro Sula, Honduras), Hugo Arrellano (LA Galaxy; Norwalk, Calif.), Jonathan Bell (DC United; Rockville, MD), Marcello Borges (Michigan; Kearny, N.J.), David Burns (Sacramento Republic; El Dorado Hills, Calif.), Aaron Herrera (New Mexico; Casa Grande, Ariz.), Malcolm Jones (UCLA, Chino Hills, Calif.), Andrew Lombard (Northeastern, Montclair, N.J.), Mauricio Pineda (Chicago Fire; Bolingbrook, Ill.), Miles Robinson (Syracuse; Arlington, Mass.), Tommy Redding (Orlando City SC; Oviedo, Fla.), Diego Silva (Maryland; Provo, UT)
MIDFIELDERS: Amir Bashti (Stanford; Cupertino, CA), Joshua Doughty (Manchester United; Manchester, England), Cameron Lindley (Indiana Fire; Carmel, IN), Lucas Mendes (DC United; Arlington, VA), Matt Olosunde (New York Red Bulls; Trenton, N.J.), Martin Salas (UNC; Dallas, Texas), Yosef Samuel (Philadelphia Union; Philadelphia, PA), Evan Waldrep (Creighton, Peoria, Ariz.), Eryk Williamson (Maryland; Alexandria, VA), Jackson Yueill (UCLA; Bloomington, Minn.), Alex Zendejas (FC Dallas; El Paso, Texas)
FORWARDS: Coy Craft (FC Dallas; Frisco, Texas), Jeremy Ebobisse (Duke; Bethesda, MD), Sebastian Elney (Maryland; West Chester, PA), Juan Flores (Houston Dynamo; Houston, Texas), Victor Mansaray (Seattle Sounders; Des Moines, WA), Josh Perez (AFC Fiorentina; La Habra, Calif.), Emmanuel Sabbi (Chicago Magic; Libertyville, Ill.), Abu Winter (Philadelphia Union; Newtown Square, PA), Isaiah Young (PDA; Berlin, NJ)