CONCACAF Champions League Quarterfinal Dates/Times Set


MLS Rivals Start “Knockout” Phase of Tournament on Tuesday, Feb. 22, at Columbus Crew Stadium;

Teams Return to Rio Tinto Stadium for Leg Two on Tuesday, March 1, with Kickoff Set for 8:00 p.m. MT



SANDY, Utah / NEW YORK (Wednesday, November 10, 2010) – The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) today announced the schedule for the Quarterfinal Round of the 2010/11 edition of the CONCACAF Champions League, which will begin when Real Salt Lake and fellow Major League Soccer competitor Columbus Crew meet on Tuesday, February 22, 2011. Kickoff is slated for 6:00 p.m. MT at Columbus Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio. The teams will then head Rio Tinto Stadium one week later on Tuesday, March 1, 2011, for the decisive Leg Two, which is set for an 8:00 p.m. MT start in Sandy.  Both legs of the CCL Quarterfinal Round between Real Salt Lake and Columbus will be broadcast live on Fox Soccer Channel.


All series in the CCL’s Championship Stage (Quarterfinals, Semifinals, and Final) will be played in an aggregate-goal format, with the number of away goals scored counting as the first tiebreaker should the series be even after 180 minutes of regulation play. Should the series still be deadlocked after away goals are applied, a 30-minute “mini-game” will be played in its entirety upon the conclusion of Leg Two, to be followed by best-of-five kicks from the penalty spot, if necessary. 


The winner of the Real Salt Lake-Columbus series will be guaranteed to square off against a Central American side in the Semifinal Round, as Costa Rican powerhouse Deportivo Saprissa and Honduran champion CD Olimpia have been drawn on the same side of the bracket as the two MLS rivals. The opposite side of the draw is an all-Mexican Primera Division affair, as RSL’s Group A nemesis Cruz Azul will take on Santos Laguna in one quarterfinal, and Monterrey and Toluca will square off in the other “Round of 8” showdown.


2010/11 CONCACAF Champions League Championship Stage Schedule
(home teams listed first)


Quarterfinal Round: Leg One

Tuesday, Feb. 22, 2011

6:00 p.m. MT Columbus Crew (USA) v. Real Salt Lake (USA)

8:00 p.m. MTCruz Azul (MEX) v. Santos Laguna (MEX)


Wednesday, Feb. 23, 2011

6:00 p.m. MT – Toluca (MEX) v. Monterrey (MEX)


Thursday, Feb. 24, 2011

6:00 p.m. MT – Deportivo Saprissa (CRC) v. CD Olimpia (HON)


Quarterfinal Round: Leg Two

Tuesday, March 1, 2011

6:00 p.m. MT – Santos Laguna (MEX) v. Cruz Azul (MEX)

8:00 p.m. MT – Real Salt Lake (USA) v. Columbus Crew (USA)


Wednesday, March 2, 2011

6:00 p.m. MT – Monterrey (MEX) v. Toluca (MEX)


Thursday, March 3, 2011

6:00 p.m. MT – CD Olimpia (HON) v. Deportivo Saprissa (CRC)


Semifinal Round

First Leg
March 15-17, 2011
Real Salt Lake
-Columbus winner v. CD Olimpia-Deportivo Saprissa winner
Monterrey-Toluca winner v. Santos-Cruz Azul winner


Second Leg
April 5-7, 2011
CD Olimpia-Deportivo Saprissa winner v. Real Salt Lake-Columbus winner
Santos-Cruz Azul winner v. Monterrey-Toluca winner


Final Round

First Leg
April 19-21, 2011
Santos-Cruz Azul/Monterrey-Toluca winner v. CD Olimpia-Deportivo Saprissa/Real Salt Lake-Columbus winner


Second Leg
April 26-28, 2011
CD Olimpia-Deportivo Saprissa/Real Salt Lake-Columbus winner v. Santos-Cruz Azul/Monterrey-Toluca winner / / /