Rimando throw (620x350)
George Frey / MLS/ Getty

Rimando Added to MLS All-Stars


Veteran Netminder Named to League’s 23-man Gameday Roster that will Face English Premier League Giants Manchester United next Wednesday in Houston;

RSL MF Kyle Beckerman to Miss League’s Midsummer Showcase Due to Foot Injury;

RSL’s Four All-Stars Ties LA Galaxy for Most Representation on 2010 MLS All-Star Squad 


SANDY, UTAH / NEW YORK (Monday, July 19, 2010) – MLS Commissioner Don Garber and MLS All-Star Team head coach Bruce Arena of the LA Galaxy have made their selections to complete the 23-man 2010 AT&T MLS All-Star roster. The MLS All-Stars will take on Manchester United in the 2010 AT&T MLS All-Star Game on July 28, 2010 at Reliant Stadium in Houston, Texas (6:30 p.m. MT, ESPN2, TeleFutura).


Among the group named by Arena was Real Salt Lake goalkeeper Nick Rimando, whose standout play during the first half of the MLS season made him the fourth member of the Claret-and-Cobalt named to the League’s All-Star membership, joining First XI selections MF Kyle Beckerman, MF Javier Morales, and DF Jamison Olave. Beckerman has officially ruled himself out of the midsummer showcase in order to focus on his return from a torn tendon in his left foot, an injury that has sidelined the RSL captain since late May. However, Beckerman will still count as an All-Star, and RSL’s contingent of four players now ties the defending MLS Cup champions with the Galaxy for the most representation on the 2010 All-Star roster.

“It’s a terrific honor to be selected again to the MLS All-Star Team,” said the 31-year-old Rimando. “It will be a great privilege to represent both Major League Soccer and Real Salt Lake next week against one of the biggest clubs in the world in Manchester United, and it’s a challenge I’m looking forward to.”

Remarkably, this will mark just the second MLS All-Star Game appearance for one of the most accomplished netminders in League history, Rimando’s first nod coming nearly a decade ago when the then-Miami Fusion FC backstop started the 2001 MLS All-Star Game for the Eastern Conference. Rimando has played a large part in Real Salt Lake’s successful 2010 campaign to date, as evidenced by a 566-minute shutout streak – the 3rd longest such run for a goalkeeper in League history – that came to an end over the weekend at FC Dallas.

Rimando, the reigning MLS Player of the Month in June, is firmly entrenched among the League leaders in every major goalkeeping category this season, his 0.81 goals against average (T-3rd), nine wins (T-2nd), .656 winning percentage (4th), seven shutouts (T-2nd), 78.3 save percentage (3rd), and 1,450 minutes played (T-2nd) all placing in MLS’ top five. Rimando also become just the fifth backstop in MLS history to reach the 100 win plateau with his victory on July 2 against New England, while his 67 shutouts (4th), 935 saves (6th), 1.27 GAA (9th), and 244 games played and started in goal (both 5th) all rank highly on the League’s career charts.

Due to international club competition for five members of the All-Star First XI and the injury to Beckerman, Arena selected 11 additional players for next Wednesday’s game day roster:

Goalkeeper Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake); defenders Kevin Alston (New England Revolution), Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA), Wilman Conde (Chicago Fire) and Heath Pearce (FC Dallas); midfielders Sebastian LeToux (Philadelphia Union), David Ferreira (FC Dallas), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Shalrie Joseph (New England Revolution) and Jeff Larentowicz (Colorado Rapids); as well as forward Juan Pablo Angel (New York Red Bulls). 


Arena will discuss these picks on a media teleconference today at 3:00 p.m. MT. Call in details are below.

WHO: MLS All-Star and LA Galaxy Head Coach Bruce Arena

WHAT: Media Teleconference Call to discuss 2010 AT&T MLS All-Star Game

DIAL-IN #: (877) 391 - 5953 [USA & Canada]; (706) 634 – 9483 [International]

Conference ID #: 89079028


The 2010 Commissioner’s selections are Houston Dynamo star forward Brian Ching and “MLS Original” Jaime Moreno of D.C. United.

Arena and his staff will select the starters based on player availability and tactical considerations.  Under the CBA, a total of 32 players will be named All-Stars. After the 23-man game day roster, the remaining nine players receiving that title will come from the weighted voting, but will be inactive for the All-Star Game.  The inactive, or alternate All-Star roster, will be announced at a later date.


2010 AT&T MLS All-Star Game Roster:

Goalkeepers: Donovan Ricketts (LA Galaxy)*, Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake) &

Defenders: Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy)*, Chad Marshall (Columbus Crew) *, Jamison Olave (Real Salt Lake)*, Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA) &, Heath Pearce (FC Dallas) &, Wilman Conde (Chicago Fire) &, Kevin Alston (New England Revolution) &.

Midfielders: Dwayne De Rosario (Toronto FC) *, Marco Pappa (Chicago Fire)* Javier Morales (Real Salt Lake) *, Guillermo Barros Schelotto (Columbus Crew) *, Sebastian LeToux (Philadelphia Union) &, David Ferreira (FC Dallas) &, Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo) &, Shalrie Joseph (New England Revolution) &, Jeff Larentowicz (Colorado Rapids) &.

Forwards: Edson Buddle (LA Galaxy) *, Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy) *, Juan Pablo Angel (New York Red Bulls) &, Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo) +, Jaime Moreno (D.C. United) +

Unavailable: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake)


* Denotes selection to First XI Team

+ Denotes a Commissioner’s Selection

& Denotes Coach’s Selection

Online fan balloting comprising 25 percent of the combined First XI vote, with MLS coaches and GMs (25 percent), media (25 percent), and players (25 percent) accounting for the remainder. Players and coaches/general managers could not register votes for players on their own teams.