Real Monarchs

Real Monarchs Announce End of Year Awards

HERRIMAN, Utah (Wednesday, September 21, 2022) Real Monarchs announced annual team award winners for 2022 as voted on by the Monarchs players. Midfielder Pedro Fonseca was selected as the club’s Most Valuable Player and RSL Homegrown Defender Jaziel Orozco was voted Defensive Player of the Year for the team. Meanwhile, midfielder Tyrone Mondi won this year’s Golden Boot for most goals scored.

Midfielder Pedro Fonseca: Real Monarchs Most Valuable Player

As one of the Club’s captains, Fonseca led the Monarchs in games played (20) and minutes (1,692). His seven goals were second-most of the year, one behind Golden Boot winner Tyrone Mondi, and his four assists were tied with RSL Homegrown Axel Kei for the most this season. On the defensive end, Fonseca contributed to three clean sheets, tied with goalkeeper Gavin Beavers the most by any player on the Monarchs roster.

Defender Jaziel Orozco: Real Monarchs Defensive Player of the Year

Serving as captain alongside Fonseca, Orozco aided in two clean sheets for the Monarchs this year, while leading the team in accurate passes (710), passing percentage (88%), accurate long balls (109). Additionally, Orozco contributed 74 duels for the second-highest duel percentage on the team (60.8%), while also making 18 interceptions and seven tackles.

Midfielder Tyrone Mondi: Real Monarchs Golden Boot

Mondi led the monarchs with eight goals this season through 17 matches. The South African midfielder recorded his first professional goal on May 8 against Sporting Kansas City II, he finished said match with a brace. On July 1 against Portland Timbers II, his second brace of the season contributed to the Monarchs’ first victory of the year, a 4-0 result. The Monarchs were undefeated this year when Mondi scored.

All-Time Real Monarchs SLC Season-Ending Award Recipients

Real Monarchs Most Valuable Player: Pedro Fonseca (2022),Malik Johnson (2021), Sam Brown (2020), Douglas Martínez (2019), Justin Portillo (2018), Nick Besler (2017)

Real Monarchs Defensive Player of the Year: Jaziel Orozco (2022), Kyle Adams (2021), James Moberg (2020), Kalen Ryden (2019), Kalen Ryden (2018), Connor Sparrow (2017)

Real Monarchs Golden Boot: Tyrone Mondi (2022), Milan Iloski (2021), Kyle Coffee (2020), Douglas Martínez (2019), Chandler Hoffman (2018), Chandler Hoffman (2017)