Utah Royals FC Announces Options and New Player Agreements for 2020

SANDY, Utah (Monday, November 4, 2019) – Utah Royals FC announced today that the club will retain the rights to 27 players from the club’s sophomore roster for the 2020 National Women’s Soccer League season. 

DF Kelley O’Hara, FW Christen Press and DF Becky Sauerbrunn from the U.S. National Team and Canadian National Team members MF Diana Matheson and MF Desiree Scott all remain on the current roster. The list of allocated players for the 2020 season will not be finalized until a later date. 

The club has also offered new contracts to GK Nicole Barnhart, DF Katie Bowen, FW Makenzy Doniak, MF Gunny Jónsdóttir, MF Lo’eau LaBonta, FW Taylor Lytle, DF Becca Moros, FW Katie Stengel, MF Erika Tymrak and FW Mallory Weber.  In addition, URFC exercised options for MF Vero Boquete, DF Rachel Corsie, MF Mandy Laddish, GK Melissa Lowder, DF Michelle Maemone, DF Madeline Nolf, DF Sydney Miramontez, FW Brittany Ratcliffe, FW Amy Rodriguez, GK Abby Smith, FW Raisa Strom-Okimoto and DF Gaby Vincent.

Utah Royals FC finished its second season in sixth place (10-10-4, 34 points), missing the playoffs by four points.

After today’s announcement, URFC’s active roster stands as follows:

Goalkeepers (3): Nicole Barnhart, Melissa Lowder, Abby Smith

Defenders (9): Katie Bowen, Rachel Corsie, Michelle Maemone, Sydney Miramontez, Becca Moros, Madeline Nolf, Kelley O’Hara, Becky Sauerbrunn, Gaby Vincent

Midfielders (7): Vero Boquete, Makenzy Doniak, Gunny Jónsdóttir, Lo’eau LaBonta, Mandy Laddish, Diana Matheson, Desiree Scott

Forwards (8): Taylor Lytle, Raisa Strom-Okimoto, Christen Press, Brittany Ratcliffe, Amy Rodriguez, Katie Stengel, Erika Tymrak, Mallory Weber